In Tennessee, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is one year from the date of the accident. This means that if you are injured in an accident caused by another party’s negligence, you have only one year to file your claim for monetary compensation. Once this year passes, you are no longer eligible for compensation through a personal injury claim.
Exceptions to the Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims
There are exceptions to this rule. For example, if a minor is injured in an accident, the statute of limitations is tolled until his or her 18th birthday. This means that it does not apply until the minor is an adult, essentially giving him or her until his or her 19th birthday to file a personal injury claim.
Other exceptions include if the victim was deemed to be disabled or mentally incompetent at the time of his or her accident and if the victim was injured by a defective product and files a product liability claim. In cases where the victim is disabled or incompetent, the statute of limitations is tolled until he or she is deemed to no longer be disabled. For product liability claims, the statute of limitations is six years, but can be as long as 10 years under the discovery rule. This rule states that the claimant may file a product liability claim within 10 years of his or her reasonable discovery of a defective product.
Do not allow your claim’s statute of limitations to pass. Work with a Memphis Tennessee Attorney to ensure that everything involving your claim is filed on time to prevent invalidating your claim.